Cinema on the Bayou Film Festival (16)

Cinema On The Bayou Film Festival



Dates limites

20 Apr 2020
Appel à Inscriptions

22 juin 2020
Date limite précoce

24 août 2020
Date limite standard

25 sept. 2020
Date limite retardée

26 oct. 2020
Date limite étundue

25
jours

30 nov. 2020
Date de notification

20 janv. 2021
27 janv. 2021

Adresse

101 Duclos Street,  70506, Lafayette, Louisiana, United States


Description du Festival
Festival d court métrage
Festival de long métrage


Exigences du Festival
 Festival de cinéma
 Fiction
 Documentaire
 Animation
 Fantastique
 Terreur
 Experimental
 Music Video
 Autres
 Tous les genres
 Tous les thèmes
 A des frais d’inscription
 Festival International
 Lieu physique
 janvier 2019
 Pays de production: Tout
 Pays de tournage: Tout
 Nationalités des directeurs: Tout
 Premiers Films 
 Projets scolaires 
 Courts-métrages 
 Long-métrage 
 Langues 
English
 Sous-titres 
English
Partager sur les réseaux sociaux
 Facebook 
 Tweet





Photo of Cinema on the Bayou Film Festival
Photo of Cinema on the Bayou Film Festival

Photo of Cinema on the Bayou Film Festival
Photo of Cinema on the Bayou Film Festival

English
French ML


Début du Festival: 20 janvier 2021      Fin du Festival: 27 janvier 2021



Situé au cœur du pays cajun, le festival annuel de huit jours Cinema on the Bayou Film Festival est un festival international de films jurés dédié à la présentation de films narratifs, documentaires, animés et expérimentaux et de réalisateurs avec des voix vraiment originales dans l'une des cultures les plus conviviales et uniques de la monde. COTB s'engage également à promouvoir les cinéastes établis et émergents ainsi que l'établissement de relations essentielles à leur travail continu. Le dévouement et l'engagement de la COTB à cet égard se poursuivent indépendamment de la pandémie — nous aurons un festival 2021 juré, que ce soit en personne ou, si nécessaire, en ligne.

Cinema on the Bayou, le deuxième festival de cinéma le plus ancien de la Louisiane, a été fondé en 2006 à Lafayette (Louisiane) par le cinéaste Pat Mire après que l'ouragan Katrina eut causé l'annulation du Festival du film de la Nouvelle-Orléans à l'automne 2005. Pat a été contacté par l'Office national du film du Canada, qui a offert une première américaine du documentaire MAROON, du célèbre cinéaste québécois André Gladu, qui devait initialement être présenté à la Nouvelle-Orléans. Le cinéma sur le Bayou a été lancé en réponse, et Gladu et son film ont ouvert le Festival inaugural. Pat continue d'occuper le poste de directeur artistique du Festival.

Depuis 2006, Cinema on the Bayou a présenté des centaines de films documentaires, narratifs, animés et expérimentaux de renommée internationale, avec des cinéastes venus des États-Unis et du monde entier. Le Festival est maintenant unique parmi les festivals de cinéma américains en ce qu'il projectionne régulièrement un grand nombre de films indépendants de langue française et présente des cinéastes de partout dans le monde francophone. Le Festival a également la distinction entre les festivals de cinéma d'avoir décerné le Prix du public au film d'animation de Moonbot Studio THE FANTASTIC FLYING BOoks OF Mr. Morris LESSMORE un an avant que le film soit nominé et a remporté un Oscar dans la catégorie court-métrage d'animation.

En 2010, le Festival a projeté près de 200 films choisis comme Sélections Officielles parmi un bassin de plus de 1 200 inscriptions. La grande majorité des films choisis étaient des Premieres mondiales, américaines ou louisianes. Plus de 60 films de langue française ont été inclus dans les sélections officielles. En plus de projeter des films de partout aux États-Unis, le Festival a également présenté des films du Canada, de France, du Japon, d'Australie, du Royaume-Uni, du Brésil, du Danemark, d'Allemagne, d'Espagne, de Slovénie, d'Haïti et d'Argentine. Plus de 200 cinéastes, acteurs, musiciens et autres professionnels de l'industrie ont assisté de Paris, Londres, Tokyo, Berlin, Hambourg, Madrid, Sydney, Danemark, Haïti, Los Angeles, New York, Tampa, Memphis, Nashville, Austin, Houston, Shreveport, Bâton-Rouge, Nouvelle-Orléans, Nouveau-Mexique, Seattle, Pittsburgh, Baltimore, Baltimore, Kansas City, Toronto (Ontario), Calgary, Moncton (Nouvelle-Écosse) et un grand groupe de la Provence du Québec, dont Montréal, Québec

et Gaspésie. Des représentants du Festival international du cinéma francophone en Acadie (FICFA), du Festival de cinéma de la ville de Québec (FCVQ) et du Festival international de cinéma et d'art de Percé, des Percéides, étaient présents. Le Festival a décerné 35 prix de goujon caille (poisson-chat tacheté).

Cinema on the Bayou a été sélectionné par Garden and Gun Magazine pour « aller dans le Sud et au-delà ». Décrivant notre décor du pays cajun comme un « ragoût d'influences françaises, espagnoles et africaines », les rédacteurs ont conclu qu'il s'agissait d'un lieu idéal pour Cinema on the Bayou, un festival international du film « chargé d'exposer les participants aux voix les plus originales du cinéma tout en favorisant les échanges culturels entre les Peuples francophones du monde. »

Cinema on the Bayou a également fait la liste des 15 meilleurs festivals de films d'hiver aux États-Unis par AudNews, un magazine en ligne destiné aux cinéastes et aux amateurs de cinéma.

Au fil des ans, le Festival a également gagné le respect de ses nombreux fidèles alums de cinéastes venus du monde entier pour partager la joie de vivre qui définit la culture ici. Il en dit long sur le festival que ces cinéastes indépendants très talentueux font non seulement des visites répétées au cinéma sur le Bayou, mais recommandent aussi le festival à leurs collègues cinéastes.

Cinema on the Bayou s'est également associé à plusieurs sociétés indépendantes de distribution de films aux États-Unis et au Canada, dont les représentants participent au Festival, afin de faciliter les relations conçues pour permettre aux cinéastes de toucher un public plus large et plus diversifié.

Le Festival s'engage à créer ces liens essentiels au milieu d'une cuisine cajun exquise, d'incroyables performances musicales locales et de discussions stimulantes, tant au sein de groupes d'experts que lors de soirées après les heures, sur tout ce qui est proche et cher à cette créature connue sous le nom de cinéaste indépendant.

Règles et conditions générales

CATÉGORIES DE FILM : Le cinéma du Festival de Bayou est ouvert à tous les films narratifs, documentaires, animés et expérimentaux de tous styles et sujets, ainsi qu'aux films en langue étrangère. Les films en langue étrangère doivent être sous-titrés en anglais.

ÉLIGIBILITÉ : Le film doit avoir été terminé après le 31 janvier 2019.

EXIGENCES PREMIÈRE : La préférence sera donnée aux premières mondiales, américaines et louisianes. Les films qui ont été projetés publiquement à Lafayette, en Louisiane ou dans un rayon de 75 milles de Lafayette, ainsi que les films qui ont été diffusés en salles, en VSD ou sur d'autres sites Internet ne sont PAS admissibles à la inscription. En soumettant le film, le cinéaste (ou toute autre personne qui soumet) confirme que le film n'a pas été projeté et ne sera pas projeté à Lafayette, en Louisiane, dans un rayon de 75 miles, ou sorti en VOD ou sur d'autres points Internet avant le cinéma sur le Bayou 2020.

FORMATION DE LA PRÉSENTATION ET EXIGENCES : Un filtre en ligne ou deux DVD (région 1 du NTSC seulement) doivent être soumis (cachet de la poste) avant la date limite de inscription applicable. Veuillez indiquer le titre du film, le temps d'exécution, la date à laquelle le film a été terminé, le numéro de suivi et la catégorie de inscription sur chaque DVD. Ne mettez pas plusieurs films sur le même DVD. Veuillez tester vos DVD sur plusieurs marques et modèles de lecteurs. Les DVD ne seront pas retournés et toutes les inscriptions deviendront la propriété du Festival.

Le cinéaste accepte d'être responsable de tous les frais d'expédition et d'assurance pour l'expédition du matériel de inscription au Festival.

HISTORIQUE DE LA PRÉSENTATION : Veuillez inclure avec votre inscription l'historique de la projection du film et son statut de première, et garder cette information à jour. Bien qu'il n'y ait pas de lettre de motivation, nous accueillons une lettre contenant des informations concernant votre intérêt pour le cinéma sur le Bayou et votre inspiration pour le film.

INFORMATIONS DE CONTACT : Veuillez indiquer avec votre inscription votre adresse physique ainsi que le meilleur numéro et e-mail pour vous contacter.

RECEPTION ET ACcusé de réception : Pour recevoir un accusé de réception de votre inscription (en plus de l'accusé de réception Festhome), vous devez joindre à votre inscription une carte postale estampillée.

PAIEMENT : Les frais de Inscription peuvent être payés via Festhome, PayPal, ou par mandat ou chèque en dollars américains à Cinema on the Bayou Film Society, 101 Duclos Street, Lafayette, LA 70506.

FORMAT D'EXPOSITION : Si votre film est accepté, le Festival doit recevoir, au plus tard le lundi 28 décembre 2020, une copie d'exposition du film dans les formats suivants : un fichier numérique (téléchargeable) tel que .MOV ou MP4 de moins de 10 Go.

Le cinéaste accepte d'être responsable de tous les frais d'expédition et d'assurance pour l'expédition du matériel d'exposition au Festival.

Pour recevoir le retour d'une copie d'un film, le cinéaste doit joindre à la copie de l'exposition une enveloppe auto-adressée avec suffisamment d'affranchissement.

CONDITIONS SUPPLÉMENTAIRES D'ENTRÉE : Cinema on the Bayou se réserve le droit de disqualifier toute inscription sans remboursement des frais de inscription.

En soumettant le film, le cinéaste (ou toute autre personne qui soumet) confirme que le film n'a pas été projeté et ne sera pas projeté à Lafayette, en Louisiane ou dans un rayon de 75 miles de Lafayette, et qu'il n'a pas été sorti en salles, en VOD ou sur d'autres points Internet avant COTB 2020. Il confirme également qu'il est autorisé à inscrire le film, qu'il a autorisé ou qu'il dégagera tous les droits de propriété intellectuelle nécessaires à la projection du film à ce festival, et qu'il exonère Cinéma on the Bayou de toute responsabilité découlant de la inscription ou de l'utilisation du film. Toutes les inscriptions deviennent la propriété de Cinema on the Bayou, et les DVD ne seront pas retournés. Si le film est accepté, il est entendu que des clips, des photos et des photos du film et liés au film peuvent être utilisés pour promouvoir le Festival.

Cinema on the Bayou ne paie pas de frais de projection ni ne garantit le voyage ou la distribution des cinéastes.

Tous les films acceptés peuvent être projetés plus d'une fois et sont programmés à la discrétion du Cinéma au sein du personnel du Festival de Bayou.

Cinema on the Bayou Film Festival est autorisé à utiliser à des fins promotionnelles un extrait de tout film soumis et accepté pour l'exposition au festival.Le Festival se voit également accorder le droit d'utiliser des images et/ou des informations biographiques des cinéastes à des fins promotionnelles.

En remplissant le formulaire de participation en ligne, la personne qui soumet le film reconnaît qu'elle accepte pleinement et intégralement les termes des présentes et qu'elle a lu et respecté les conditions d'inscription du Festival du Film de Bayou 2020.




  

 
  

Découvrez les meilleurs films et festivals, en un seul clic

S’inscrire
Connexion

Cinema on the Bayou Film Festival (16)

Cinema On The Bayou Film Festival



Deadlines

20 Apr 2020
Call for entries

22 Jun 2020
Early deadline

24 Aug 2020
Standard deadline

25 Sep 2020
Late deadline

26 Oct 2020
Extended deadline

5
mths

30 Nov 2020
Notification date

20 Jan 2021
27 Jan 2021

Address

101 Duclos Street,  70506, Lafayette, Louisiana, United States


Festival description
Short film festival
Feature film festival


Festival requirements
 Film festival
 Fiction
 Documentary
 Animation
 Fantastic
 Terror
 Experimental
 Music Video
 Other
 Any Genre
 Any Theme
 Has submission fees
 International Festival
 Physical Location
 January 2019
 Production countries: Any
 Shooting countries: Any
 Director nationalities: Any
 Debut Films 
 School projects 
 Short Films 
 Feature Films 
 Languages 
English
 Subtitles 
English
Share on Social Networks
 Facebook 
 Tweet





Photo of Cinema on the Bayou Film Festival
Photo of Cinema on the Bayou Film Festival

Photo of Cinema on the Bayou Film Festival
Photo of Cinema on the Bayou Film Festival

English


Festival start: 20 January 2021      Festival end: 27 January 2021



Located in the heart of Cajun country, the annual eight-day Cinema on the Bayou Film Festival is an international, juried film festival dedicated to presenting narrative, documentary, animated and experimental films and filmmakers with truly original voices in one of the friendliest, most unique cultures in the world. COTB is also committed to promoting both established and emerging filmmakers and the relationship-building that is crucial to their continued work. The dedication and commitment of COTB in this regard continue regardless of the pandemic -- we will have a juried 2021 Festival whether in person or, if necessary, on line.


Cinema on the Bayou, Louisiana's second oldest film festival, was founded in 2006 in Lafayette, Louisiana, by filmmaker Pat Mire after Hurricane Katrina caused the cancellation of the New Orleans Film Festival in the fall of 2005. Pat was contacted by the National Film Board of Canada, which offered a U.S. premiere of the documentary MAROON, by famed Quebecois filmmaker Andre Gladu, which was originally scheduled to premiere in New Orleans. Cinema on the Bayou was launched in response, and Gladu and his film opened the inaugural Festival. Pat continues to serve as Artistic Director of the Festival.

Since 2006, Cinema on the Bayou has presented hundreds of internationally acclaimed documentary, narrative fiction, animated and experimental films, with filmmakers in attendance from across the United States and around the world. The Festival is now unique among film festivals in the U.S. in that it also regularly screens a large number of French-language independent films and presents filmmakers from throughout the Francophone world. The Festival also has the distinction among film festivals of having given the Audience Award to Moonbot Studio's animated film THE FANTASTIC FLYING BOOKS OF MR. MORRIS LESSMORE one year before the film was nominated for and won an Academy Award in the animated short category.

In 2010, the Festival screened nearly 200 films which were chosen as Official Selections from a pool of more than 1,200 submissions. The vast majority of the films chosen were World, U.S. or Louisiana Premieres. Included within the official selections were more than 60 French-language films. In addition to screening films from across the United States, the Festival also screened films from Canada, France, Japan, Australia, the U.K., Brazil, Denmark, Germany, Spain, Slovenia, Haiti and Argentina. More than 200 filmmakers, actors, musicians and other industry professionals attended from Paris, London, Tokyo, Berlin, Hamburg, Madrid, Sydney, Denmark, Haiti, Los Angeles, New York, Tampa, Memphis, Nashville, Austin, Houston, Shreveport, Baton Rouge, New Orleans, New Mexico, Seattle, Pittsburgh, Baltimore, Baltimore, Kansas City, Toronto, Ontario, Calgary, Moncton, Nova Scotia and a large group from the Quebec Provence, including Montréal, Québec City
and Gaspésie. Representatives from Festival international du cinéma francophone en Acadie (FICFA), Le Festival de cinema de la ville de Québec (FCVQ) and Le Festival international de cinema et d’art de Percé, Les Percéides, were in attendance. The Festival awarded 35 goujon caille (spotted catfish) awards.

Cinema on the Bayou has been selected as the Editors' Choice for "goings-on in the South and beyond" by Garden and Gun Magazine. Describing our Cajun Country setting as a "stew of French, Spanish, and African influences," the Editors concluded that it was an ideal spot for Cinema on the Bayou, an international film festival "charged with exposing attendees to the most original voices in film while fostering cultural exchange among the French-speaking peoples of the world."

Cinema on the Bayou also made the list of the Top 15 Winter Film Festivals in the U.S. by AudNews, an on-line magazine for filmmakers and film lovers.

Over the years, the Festival also has earned the respect of its many loyal filmmaker alums who come from around the world to share in the joie de vivre that defines the culture here. It says a lot about the festival that these highly talented independent filmmakers not only make repeat visits to Cinema on the Bayou, but also recommend the Festival to their filmmaker colleagues.

Cinema on the Bayou also has partnered with several independent film distribution companies in the United States and Canada, whose representatives attend the Festival, in order to facilitate relationships designed to provide opportunities for filmmakers to reach wider, more diverse audiences.

The Festival is committed to creating these essential connections amid exquisite Cajun cuisine, amazing local music performances, and thought-provoking discussions, both on expert panels and at after-hours parties, about all that is near and dear to that creature known as the independent filmmaker.



FILM CATEGORIES: Narrative Feature, Narrative Short, Documentary Feature, Documentary Short, Animated Short and Experimental Short.

SCREENING COMMITTEES AND JUDGES: The Festival screening committees include filmmaker alums, and the roster of judges includes festival programmers and filmmaker alum award-winners from previous Festivals.

AWARDS: The "goujon caille" (the spotted catfish -- Cajun culture's most prized catfish) award, by renowned artists Pat and Andre Juneau, is given in the following categories:

Director's Choice Special Jury Award
Le Train Bleu Award
Best Narrative Feature Award
Special Jury Award - Narrative Feature
Best Narrative Short Award
Special Jury Award - Narrative Short
Best Documentary Feature Award
Special Jury Award - Documentary Feature
Best Documentary Short Award
Special Jury Award - Documentary Short
Best Animated Short Award
Special Jury Award - Animated Short
Best Experimental Short Award
Special Jury Award - Experimental Short
Best Actor
Best Cinematography
Inspiration Award
Audience Award

Cash and other prizes and awards will be listed later.

FESTIVAL PASSES AND LODGING: For all filmmakers whose films are accepted, Cinema on the Bayou offers two all-access passes for filmmakers in attendance and complimentary lodging for up to four days for filmmakers traveling from outside the United States and for up to two days for filmmakers traveling from outside Louisiana. The Festival also offers plenty of after-hours food and drink. As Founder and Artistic Director Pat Mire likes to say, "we weigh them when they arrive and again when they leave, and I promise you, no one looses weight at Cinema on the Bayou!"

Rules & Terms

FILM CATEGORIES: Cinema on the Bayou Film Festival is open to all narrative, documentary, animated and experimental films of all styles and subjects, as well as foreign language films. Foreign language films must have English subtitles.

ELIGIBILITY: The film must have been completed after January 31, 2019.

PREMIERE REQUIREMENTS: Preference will be given to World, U.S. and Louisiana premieres. Films that have screened publicly in Lafayette, Louisiana or within a 75 mile radius of Lafayette, as well as film that have been released in theaters or on VOD or other internet outlets are NOT eligible for submission. By submitting the film, the filmmaker (or other person submitting) confirms that the film has not been and will not be screened in Lafayette, Louisiana or within a 75 mile radius or released on VOD or other internet outlets prior to Cinema on the Bayou 2020.

SUBMISSION FORMAT AND REQUIREMENTS: Either an online screener or 2 DVDs (NTSC Region 1 only) must be submitted (postmarked) by the applicable submission deadline. Please include the film title, running time, the date the film was completed, the tracking number, and the submission category on each DVD. Do not put multiple films on the same DVD. Please test your DVDs on several makes and models of players. DVDs will not be returned, and all submissions become the property of the Festival.

The filmmaker agrees to be responsible for all shipping and insurance costs for shipping submission materials to the Festival.

SCREENING HISTORY: Please include with your submission the screening history of the film and its premiere status, and please keep this information updated. While a cover letter is not required, we welcome one with information concerning your interest in Cinema on the Bayou and your inspiration for the film.

CONTACT INFORMATION: Please include with your submission your physical address as well as the best number and email by which to contact you.

RECEIPT AND ACKNOWLEDGMENT: To receive acknowledgment of receipt of your entry (in addition to Festhome acknowledgement), you must enclose a self-addressed, stamped postcard with your entry.

PAYMENT: Submission fees can be paid via Festhome, PayPal, or by money order or check in U.S. dollars to Cinema on the Bayou Film Society, 101 Duclos Street, Lafayette, LA 70506.

EXHIBITION FORMAT: If your film is accepted, the Festival must receive, by Monday, December 28, 2020, the following: an exhibition copy of the film in the following formats: a digital (downloadable) file such as .MOV or MP4 less than 10 GB in size.

The filmmaker agrees to be responsible for all shipping and insurance costs for shipping exhibition materials to the Festival.

To receive the return of a copy of a film, the filmmaker must enclose a self-addressed envelope with sufficient postage with the exhibition copy.

ADDITIONAL TERMS OF ENTRY: Cinema on the Bayou reserves the right to disqualify any submission without refund of submission fees.

By submitting the film, the filmmaker (or other person submitting) confirms that the film has not and will not be screened in Lafayette, Louisiana or within a 75 mile radius from Lafayette, and has not been released in theaters or on VOD or other internet outlets prior to COTB 2020. He or she also confirms that he or she is authorized to submit the film, has cleared or will clear all intellectual property rights necessary for the screening of the film at this film festival, and holds harmless Cinema on the Bayou from any liability arising from the submission or use of the film. All submissions become the property of Cinema on the Bayou, and DVD's will not be returned. If the film is accepted, it is with the understanding that clips, photos and stills of and related to the film may be used to promote the Festival.

Cinema on the Bayou does not pay screening fees or guarantee travel or distribution for filmmakers.

All accepted films may be screened more than once and are scheduled at the discretion of the Cinema on the Bayou Film Festival staff.

Cinema on the Bayou Film Festival is hereby granted the right to utilize an excerpt from any film submitted and accepted for exhibition at the festival for promotional purposes. The Festival is also hereby granted the right to utilize images and/or biographical information of the filmmakers for promotional purposes.

By completing the online entry form, the person submitting the film acknowledges his/her full and complete acceptance of the terms hereof and that he/she has read and complies with all 2020 Cinema on the Bayou Film Festival Terms of Entry.




  

 
  

Discover great films & festivals, one click away

Register
Login