Biografilm Festival | International Celebration of Lives (17)



Fristen

01 Nov 2020
Aufruf zu Einschreibungen

15 Dez 2020
Frühe Frist

02 Feb 2021
Standard-Frist

09 Mär 2021
Späte Frist

01 Apr 2021
Verlängerte Frist

4
Monate

31 Mai 2021
Benachrichtigungsdatum

04 Jun 2021
14 Jun 2021

Adresse

Via della Zecca 2,  40121, Bologna, BO, Italy


Festival Beschreibung
Kurzfilmfestival >50'
Spielfilmfestival >50'


Festival Anforderungen
 Filmfestival
 Fiktion
 Dokumentarfilm
 Animation
 Fantastisch
 Terror
 Experimental
 Musik-Video
 Andere
 Alle Genre
 Alle Themen
 Hat Einsende-Gebühren
 Internationales Festival
 Physischer Standort
 Januar 2020
 Produktionsländer: Jede
 Länder Dreharbeiten: Jede
 Nationalitäten Regisseur: Jede
 Debütfilme 
 Schulprojekte 
 Kurzfilme  >50'
 Spielfilme  >50'
 Jede Sprache
 Jede Sprache
Teilen in sozialen Netzwerken
 Facebook 
 Tweet




Photo of Biografilm Festival | International Celebration of Lives
Photo of Biografilm Festival | International Celebration of Lives
Photo of Biografilm Festival | International Celebration of Lives
Photo of Biografilm Festival | International Celebration of Lives

Italian
English
German ML


Festival Start: 04 Juni 2021      Festival Ende: 14 Juni 2021

Biografilm Festival | International Celebration of Lives ist international bekannt als das filmische Ereignis, das sich ausschließlich den Lebensgeschichten und dem Qualitätskino widmet. Das Biografilm Festival wird vom Verein Fanatic About Festivals unter der künstlerischen Leitung von Leena Pasanen organisiert.

Für die kommende 17. Ausgabe des Biografilm Festivals freuen wir uns, offiziell den Aufruf für nationale und internationale Filme zu starten, um am Festival in Bologna 4.-14. Juni 2021 teilzunehmen.

Für detailliertere Informationen über die Veranstaltung, Programme früherer Ausgaben, Neuigkeiten über die kommende Ausgabe und über die Aktivitäten von Biografilm im Laufe des Jahres laden wir Sie herzlich ein, die Website des Festivals zu besuchen: www.biografilm.it/de/

FILM-REGISTRIERUNG

Bewerbungen zur Einreichung von Dokumentarfilmen und Spielfilmen werden eingeladen, wenn der Film die folgenden Voraussetzungen erfüllt:

• Eine Laufzeit von 50 Minuten oder länger;
• Fertigstellung nach dem 1. Januar 2020;
• Der Film wurde nicht in Italien gezeigt oder veröffentlicht (öffentliche Vorführungen, andere Festivals oder Veranstaltungen, digitale Veröffentlichungen usw.).

Kurz- oder mittellange Filme (mit einer Länge von weniger als 50 Minuten) werden nicht akzeptiert.

Es liegt im absoluten Ermessen des künstlerischen Leiters des Festivals und nur in Ausnahmefällen, dass Filme akzeptiert werden, die sich nicht an die oben genannten Richtlinien halten.

Eine Einreichung gilt erst dann als gültig, wenn bestätigt wird, dass die Regeln und Vorschriften des Anrufs eingehalten wurden, der Link für den Screener hochgeladen wurde, alle angeforderten Informationen zur Verfügung gestellt und die Abonnementgebühr (in Euro) über das Online-Portal FESTHOME bezahlt wurde:
https://festhome.com/festival/biografilm-festival-international-celebration-of-lives

Beim Laden eines Screeners auf FESTHOME werden VIMEO Links bevorzugt.

Alle Filme, die zum Aufruf eingereicht werden, die Dialog in anderen Sprachen als Englisch oder Italienisch haben, müssen mit englischen Untertiteln hochgeladen werden.
DVDs werden akzeptiert, aber sie können in keiner Form einen Online-Link ersetzen.

Das Festival kann keine DVDs zurückgeben.

GEBÜHREN UND TIMINGS
Mehr als ein Film kann von derselben Person eingereicht werden.
Die Einreichungsgebühr in Euro ist für jeden eingereichten Film erforderlich und muss nach den auf dem FESTHOME-Portal angegebenen Methoden bezahlt werden.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass neben der Festival-Einreichungsgebühr die Zahlung einer zusätzlichen Servicegebühr von FESTHOME verlangt wird, um die Plattform nutzen zu können und die Servicegebühr je nach Art des Nutzers, den Sie auf der Plattform haben oder erstellen, variieren kann.

Dokumentationen
1. Deadline: Dienstag, 15. Dezember 2020, Einreichungsgebühr: 20 EUR (+ FESTHOME-Servicegebühr)
2. Deadline: Dienstag 02. Februar 2021, Einreichungsgebühr: 30 EUR (+ FESTHOME-Servicegebühr)
3. Deadline: Dienstag, 09. März 2021, Einreichungsgebühr: 40 EUR (+ FESTHOME Servicegebühr)
Endschluss: Donnerstag, 01. April 2021, Einreichungsgebühr: 50 EUR (+ FESTHOME-Servicegebühr)

Fiktion Filme
1. Deadline: Dienstag, 15. Dezember 2020, Einreichungsgebühr: 20 EUR (+ FESTHOME-Servicegebühr)
2. Deadline: Dienstag 02. Februar 2021, Einreichungsgebühr: 30 EUR (+ FESTHOME-Servicegebühr)
3. Deadline: Dienstag, 09. März 2021, Einreichungsgebühr: 40 EUR (+ FESTHOME Servicegebühr)
Endschluss: Donnerstag, 01. April 2021, Einreichungsgebühr: 50 EUR (+ FESTHOME-Servicegebühr)

Die Studierenden können ihre Filme über die Dauer des Anrufs (d.h. auch nach Ablauf der Frist vom 15. Dezember 2020) mit einer Einreichungsgebühr in Höhe von 20 EUR (+ FESTHOME-Servicegebühr) einreichen, indem sie sich direkt vor der Einreichung des Films an das Programmierungsbüro von Biografilm wenden.


AUSGEWÄHLTE FILME
Biografilm behält sich das Recht vor, Filme für jede der wichtigsten Festivalbereiche (Internationaler Wettbewerb, Biografilm Italia, Contemporary Lives, Biografilm Europa, Biografilm Art & Music) oder für alle neuen Sektionen auszuwählen, die für die 17. Ausgabe von Biografilm geschaffen wurden. Die Auswahl der Filme erfolgt unter der unbestrittenen Leitung des Festivaldirektors.

Ausgewählte Filme erhalten eine offizielle schriftliche Mitteilung mit allen Details zur Teilnahme. Der Antragsteller muss innerhalb von fünf Arbeitstagen nach Erhalt der Post auf das Schreiben antworten, in dem er die Einladung annimmt. Ausgewählte Filme müssen für die gesamte Dauer der öffentlichen Vorführungen des Festivals und für ein oder zwei Presse- und Branchenvorführungen während der Biografilm zur Verfügung stehen.

Die Programm- und Screening-Zeiten für die Öffentlichkeit, Presse und Industrie Screenings werden nach Ermessen des Programmplanungsbüros veröffentlicht und sobald sie verfügbar sind, mitgeteilt.

Das Festivalteam erstellt für die Öffentlichkeit einen Festivalkatalog für die Filme, die während des Festivals präsentiert werden.

Für alle ausgewählten Filme zeigt jede Form der Förderung nach der offiziellen Ankündigung des Programms die Teilnahme des Films an der 17. Ausgabe des Biografilm Festivals mit dem offiziellen Festivallogo an — das vom Programmbüro des Festivals bereitgestellt wird. Dazu wird ein aktives Engagement von den Rechteinhabern des ausgewählten Films erwartet.

Produzenten und Distributoren im Zusammenhang mit Filmen, die auf dem Biografilm Festival präsentiert werden, müssen sicherstellen, dass das offizielle Festival-Logo in Werbematerial für den Film (einschließlich Poster, Trailer, Social Media und Web-Aktivitäten) und in der Kopie des Films für Vorführungen enthalten ist, unter Angabe der Teilnahme des Films auf dem Festival und, falls verliehen, den Preis erhalten, unter Verwendung der offiziellen Preisgrafik, die vom Programmierungsbüro des Festivals zur Verfügung gestellt wird.


PROJEKTION FORMATE
Ausgewählte Filme werden in ihrer Originalsprache mit italienischen Untertiteln gezeigt; für einige Vorführungen gibt es auch englische Untertitel.

Wenn die Originalsprache des Films nicht italienisch ist und der Film keine italienischen Untertitel hat, kümmert sich Biografilm um die Übersetzung und Synchronisierung. In diesem Fall bitten wir Sie, diese Materialien einzureichen:
• Liste der endgültigen Untertitel mit Timecode. Die Liste der Untertitel muss entweder in Word, RTF, XML, stl, txt oder srt enthalten, mit Timecodes wie in diesem Beispiel: IN 00:00:05:02 OUT 00:00:07:04. (Stunde/mins/secs/frames für IN und OUT). Timecodes müssen mit denen auf dem DCP übereinstimmen.
• Definitive, Longplay-Videodatei des Films, 100% identisch mit der endgültigen Version des DCP, (mp4/avi/mov), SD mit niedriger Auflösung, maximale Größe 1 GB, um mit der Übersetzung fortzufahren und die Untertitel synchron zu überprüfen. Online-Screeners werden ebenfalls akzeptiert, solange sie 100% identisch mit der endgültigen Version sind des DCP.

Für Screening-Zwecke werden nur folgende Formate akzeptiert:
- DCP saubere Version (ohne Untertitel, aber mit den Originalgrafiken und Beschriftungen)
- DCP mit Untertiteln (entsprechend der Originalsprache/en des Films mit dem Print Traffic Office zu vereinbaren)
- Blu-ray mit wählbaren englischen Untertiteln
- Quicktime ProRes 422 HQ saubere Version (ohne Untertitel, aber mit den Originalgrafiken und Untertiteln) des Films auf HHD oder über digitale Lieferung.

Sobald der Film ausgewählt ist, wird die Organisation offenlegen, welche der oben genannten Formate an das Festival gesendet werden müssen.

Technisches Formular
Jede Festplatte muss von der DCP TECHNISCHE FORM begleitet werden, die folgende Parameter angibt: Bildstruktur-Container, Bildseitenverhältnis (z. B. 2:39, 1:85, 16:9 usw.), Audio-Kanalanzahl, CPL (s) UUID, zusätzlich zu allen allgemeinen Informationen, die normalerweise für Filme bereitgestellt werden (Titel, Dauer, Untertitel, Sprache usw.)

Schlüsselübermittlungsnachricht (KDM)
Die DCP-Verschlüsselung ist optional.
Wenn der DCP verschlüsselt ist, stellen Sie KDMs für alle Serverzertifikate bereit, die beim Biografilm Festival verwendet werden. Die KDMs sind notwendig, um das Screening des Films zu gewährleisten und technische Prüfungen im Vorfeld der geplanten Vorführungen durchzuführen.

Die KDMs müssen ab dem Tag gültig sein, an dem die Kopie mit einem Ablaufdatum nach dem letzten Tag des Festivals (20. Juni 2021) eintrifft. Die KDMs werden an das Biografilm Festival Print Traffic Office per E-Mail an print@biografilm.com geliefert.

Das Screening-Material des ausgewählten Films, außer in Ausnahmefällen, die vom Programmplanungsbüro Biografilm genehmigt wurden, muss für die gesamte Dauer des Festivals zur Verfügung stehen und muss vor und nicht nach dem 5. Mai 2021 in Bologna eintreffen. Weitere Informationen zur Einreichung von Screening-Materialien erhalten Sie in der offiziellen Auswahlmitteilung.

Biografilm Festival Postproduktion Partnerschaft
Wenn Sie keinen Zugang zu einer Einrichtung für die Erstellung eines konformen Digital Cinema Package (DCP) haben, können Sie die Vorteile der Postproduktion nutzen Biografilm Festival hat eine besondere Vereinbarung mit. Für weitere Informationen können Sie das Biografilm Festival Print Traffic Office unter print@biografilm.com kontaktieren.


BENÖTIGTES MATERIAL
Ausgewählte Filme müssen innerhalb von fünf Arbeitstagen nach Erhalt des offiziellen Auswahlschreibens folgendes Kommunikationsmaterial zu dem Film senden. Bei Nichteinhaltung der Frist besteht die Gefahr, dass der Ausschluss aus dem Festivalprogramm besteht (sofern nicht im Ermessen des Festivals etwas anderes mitgeteilt wird):

- Spotting Liste
- Untertitelliste in Originalsprache und Englisch (mit Timecode in und out)
- Pressebuch in englischer Sprache
- hochauflösendes Poster (.jpg oder .tiff, 300 dpi oder mehr)
- Fotos mit hoher Auflösung (.jpg oder .tiff, 300 oder mehr dpi mit Abmessungen von 1000 Pixeln oder mehr pro Seite)
- Digitales Headshot-Foto des Regisseurs
- Biografie und Filmographie des Regisseurs in englischer Sprache (und in italienischer Sprache, soweit verfügbar)
- Hochauflösender Anhänger von maximal 3 Minuten (über digitale Lieferung)
- Hochauflösende Videoclips für TV von maximal 2 Minuten (über digitale Lieferung)
- Online-Screener (d. h. Vimeo-Link, mit einem Passwort, das bis zum Ende des Festivals gültig bleiben muss) mit englischen Untertiteln, wenn der Film in einer anderen Sprache als Englisch ist.
- Synopsis in Italienisch (optional für nicht-italienische Filme) und in Englisch (max. 700 Zeichen)
- Bestätigung, ob es sich bei dem Film um ein Debüt oder einen zweiten Film handelt
- Informationen zum Premierenstatus des Films
- Informationen über die Teilnahme des Films an anderen Festivals und, soweit relevant, Details zu den zuvor erhaltenen Auszeichnungen
- Produktionsland (n)/Koproduktion (bitte den Haupt-Koproduzenten angeben)
- Hauptnachweis des Films (Hauptbesatzung und Hauptdarsteller)

Der Link für den Online-Screener sollte bis zum Ende des Festivals für den internen Gebrauch zur Verfügung stehen. Sobald die Teilnahme des Films bei Biografilm bestätigt wurde, behält sich das Communications Team das Recht vor, den Film bestimmten ausgewählten Journalisten vorzustellen.

Darüber hinaus behält sich das Communications Team nach Bestätigung der Teilnahme des Films bei Biografilm das Recht vor, Auszüge aus dem Film von maximal 3 aufeinanderfolgenden Minuten für den nationalen und internationalen Einsatz zu verwenden.

Sobald die offizielle Auswahleinladung angenommen wurde, kann ein ausgewählter Film nicht mehr aus dem offiziellen Programm entfernt werden.

Biografilm Festival übernimmt keine Verantwortung für eventuelle Fehler oder Fehler in dem Material, das es erhält, um den Film zu begleiten.

RECHTE
Es obliegt den Produzenten, Händlern und anderen Personen, die den Film präsentieren, zu gewährleisten, dass sie berechtigt sind, den Film beim Biografilm Festival einzureichen.

Mit der Einreichung des Films über den aktuellen Aufruf erklären sich die Teilnehmer als Rechteinhaber des Films (auch im Namen anderer Co-Filmemacher, die nicht teilnehmen wollen); dazu gehören auch urheberrechtlich geschütztes Material, das im Film enthalten ist.

Biografilm kann nicht haftbar gemacht werden für das unbefugte Einfügen von urheberrechtlich geschütztem Material, das in dem zu präsentierenden Film enthalten ist oder damit in Zusammenhang steht. Biografilm behält sich das Recht vor, Filme zu disqualifizieren, die nicht autorisiertes Material enthalten, das urheberrechtlich geschützt ist.

ALLGEMEINE HINWEISE
Die Einreichung eines Films an den Aufruf und die Teilnahme am Biografilm Festival beinhaltet die bedingungslose Annahme dieser Verordnung. In nicht näher bezeichneten Fällen liegt die endgültige Entscheidung ausschließlich im Ermessen des Biografilm Festivals.

Der Festivaldirektor kann Entscheidungen in Angelegenheiten treffen, die nicht von diesen Regeln und Vorschriften abgedeckt sind. Jede Kontroverse unterliegt der Zuständigkeit des Gerichts von Bologna


KONTAKTE
Für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an das Programmierungsbüro des Biografilm Festivals, das für alle Fragen zur Verfügung steht:

Biografilm Festival | Programmierbüro
Via della Zecca 2, 40121 — Bologna (Italien)
E-Mail: programma@biografilm.it, assistantprogrammer@biografilm.com
Tel: +39 051 4070166
www.biografilm.it/de/


  

 
  

Entdecken Sie großartige Filme & Festivals, nur einen Klick entfernt

Registrieren
Anmelden

Biografilm Festival | International Celebration of Lives (17)



Deadlines

01 Nov 2020
Call for entries

15 Dec 2020
Early deadline

02 Feb 2021
Standard deadline

09 Mar 2021
Late deadline

01 Apr 2021
Final deadline

31 May 2021
Notification date

04 Jun 2021
14 Jun 2021

Address

Via della Zecca 2,  40121, Bologna, BO, Italy


Festival description
Feature film festival >50'


Festival requirements
 Film festival
 Fiction
 Documentary
 Animation
 Fantastic
 Terror
 Experimental
 Music Video
 Other
 Any Genre
 Any Theme
 Has submission fees
 International Festival
 Physical Location
 January 2020
 Production countries: Any
 Shooting countries: Any
 Director nationalities: Any
 Debut Films 
 School projects 
 Feature Films  >50'
 Any language
 Any language
Share on Social Networks
 Facebook 
 Tweet





Photo of Biografilm Festival | International Celebration of Lives
Photo of Biografilm Festival | International Celebration of Lives

Photo of Biografilm Festival | International Celebration of Lives
Photo of Biografilm Festival | International Celebration of Lives

Italian
English


Festival start: 04 June 2021      Festival end: 14 June 2021

Biografilm Festival | International Celebration of Lives is known internationally as the cinematic event entirely dedicated to life stories and to quality cinema. Biografilm Festival is organised by the Fanatic About Festivals association, under the Artistic Direction of Leena Pasanen.

For the upcoming 17th edition of Biografilm Festival we are pleased to officially launch the call for both national and international films to participate in the Festival in Bologna 4-14 June 2021.

For more detailed information regarding the event, programmes from previous editions, news about the upcoming edition and about Biografilm’s activity throughout the year, we kindly invite you to visit the Festival’s website: www.biografilm.it/en/

FESTIVAL SECTIONS AND PRIZES

The main Festival sections are: International Competition, Biografilm Italia, Contemporary Lives, Biografilm Europa, Biografilm Art & Music.

INTERNATIONAL COMPETITION
We welcome all international and Italian documentary films that are completed after the 1st of January 2020. The minimum running time of the film must be 50 minutes. Italian premiere is required.
The films selected for International Competition are competing for the following prizes:
Best Film Award | Biografilm Festival the jury’s prize for the best film, the Life Tales Award | Biografilm Festival the jury’s prize for the best life story, the “Nuovi Talenti” Award | Biografilm Festival the jury’s prize for the best debut film and the Audience Award | Biografilm Festival awarded by the public.

BIOGRAFILM ITALIA
We welcome documentary films that are Italian productions or co-productions and completed after the 1st of January 2020. The minimum running time of the film must be 50 minutes. Italian premiere is required.
The films selected for Biografilm Italia are competing for the following prizes: Best Film Award | Biografilm Italia the jury’s prize for the best film, Life Tales Award | Biografilm Italia the jury’s prize for the best life story, “Nuovi Talenti” Award | Biografilm Festival the jury’s prize for the best debut film and the Audience Award | Biografilm Italia awarded by the public.

CONTEMPORARY LIVES
This section welcomes all international and Italian documentary films with contemporary topics that invite the audience to reflect on the issues and realities of our world today. The films must be completed after the 1st of January 2020. The minimum running time of the film must be 50 minutes. Italian premiere is required.
The films selected for this section are competing for the following audience prize: Audience Award | Biografilm Contemporary Lives.

BIOGRAFILM EUROPA
Biografilm Festival dedicates this section to the best of European cinema inspired by life stories. We welcome fiction films that are European productions or co-productions and are completed after the 1st of January 2020. The minimum running time of the film must be 50 minutes. Italian premiere is required.

The films selected for this section are competing for the following audience prize: Audience Award | Biografilm Europa.

BIOGRAFILM ART & MUSIC
This section celebrates art and music in all forms. We welcome all international and Italian documentary and fiction films that are completed after the 1st of January 2020. The minimum running time of the film must be 50 minutes. Italian premiere is required.
The films selected for this section are competing for the following audience prize: Audience Award | Biografilm Art & Music.

Biografilm reserves the right to add/change/remove any awards prior to the 17th edition of the Festival.

FILM REGISTRATION

Applications to submit feature length documentaries and fiction films are invited if the film meets the following eligibility requirements:

• A running time of 50 minutes or longer;
• Completion after the 1st of January 2020;
• The film has not been screened or released in Italy (public screenings, other festivals or events, digital releases, etc).

Short or medium length films (with a length of less than 50 minutes) will not be accepted.

It is at the absolute discretion of the Artistic Director of the Festival, and only in exceptional cases, that films that do not adhere to the guidelines mentioned above will be accepted.

A submission is only deemed valid once it is confirmed that the rules and regulations of the call have been adhered to, the link for the screener has been uploaded, all of the requested information has been provided and the subscription fee (in euros) has been paid via the online portal FESTHOME:
https://festhome.com/festival/biografilm-festival-international-celebration-of-lives

When loading a screener to FESTHOME, VIMEO links are preferred.

All films submitted to the call that have dialogue in languages other than english or Italian must by uploaded with english subtitles.
DVDs will be accepted, but they cannot substitute in any form an online link.

The Festival is unable to return DVDs.

FEES AND TIMINGS
More than one film can be submitted by the same person.
The submission fee in euros is required for each film submitted and must be paid by the methods indicated on the FESTHOME portal.

Please note that in addition to the festival submission fee, the payment of an additional service fee will be required by FESTHOME in order to use the platform and the service fee may vary depending on the type of user that you have or create on the platform.

Documentaries
1st deadline: Tuesday 15 December 2020, Submission Fee: 20 EUR (+ FESTHOME service fee)
2nd deadline: Tuesday 02 February 2021, Submission Fee: 30 EUR (+ FESTHOME service fee)
3rd deadline: Tuesday 09 March 2021, Submission Fee: 40 EUR (+ FESTHOME service fee)
Final deadline: Thursday 01 April 2021, Submission Fee: 50 EUR (+ FESTHOME service fee)

Fiction Films
1st deadline: Tuesday 15 December 2020, Submission Fee: 20 EUR (+ FESTHOME service fee)
2nd deadline: Tuesday 02 February 2021, Submission Fee: 30 EUR (+ FESTHOME service fee)
3rd deadline: Tuesday 09 March 2021, Submission Fee: 40 EUR (+ FESTHOME service fee)
Final deadline: Thursday 01 April 2021, Submission Fee: 50 EUR (+ FESTHOME service fee)

Students may submit their films by paying a Submission Fee of a fixed price of 20 EUR (+ FESTHOME service fee) throughout the duration of the call (i.e. even after the deadline of the 15th of December 2020), by contacting the Programming Office of Biografilm directly before submitting the film.


SELECTED FILMS
Biografilm reserves the right to select films for each of the main festival sections (International Competition, Biografilm Italia, Contemporary Lives, Biografilm Europa, Biografilm Art & Music) or any new sections created for the 17th edition of Biografilm. The selection of films will be made under the undisputed direction of the Festival Director.

Selected films will receive an official written communication with full details regarding participation. Applicants must respond to the letter accepting the invitation within five working days of receiving the mail. Selected films must be available for the entire duration of the public screenings of the Festival and for one or two press and industry screenings during Biografilm.

The programme and screening times for the public, press & industry screenings will be released at the discretion of the Programming Office and will be communicated as soon as they are available.

The Festival team will create a Festival catalogue for the public of the films presented during the festival.

For all selected films, any form of promotion after the official announcement of the programme will indicate the film’s participation at the 17th edition of Biografilm Festival with the official festival logo – which will be provided by the Programming Office of the Festival. For this, active engagement will be expected from the rights holders of the selected film.

Producers and Distributors related to films presented at Biografilm Festival are required to ensure that the official Festival logo is included in promotional material for the film (including poster, trailer, social media and web activity) and in the copy of the film for screenings, indicating the participation of the film at the Festival and, if awarded, the prize received, using the official award graphics provided by the Programming Office of the Festival.


PROJECTION FORMATS
Selected films will be screened in their original language with Italian subtitles; for some screenings there will also be english subtitles.

If the film's original language is not Italian and the film has no Italian subtitles, Biografilm will take care of the translation and sync. In this case we kindly ask for these materials to be submitted:
• List of definitive subtitles with timecode. The list of subtitles must be in either: Word, RTF, XML, stl, txt or srt, with timecodes such as in this example: IN 00:00:05:02 OUT 00:00:07:04. (hour/mins/secs/frames for both IN and OUT). Timecodes must match the ones on the DCP.
• Definitive, longplay video file of the film, 100% identical to the final version of the DCP, (mp4/avi/mov), low resolution SD, maximum size 1 GB, in order to proceed with the translation and check the subtitles sync. online screeners will also be accepted, as long as they're 100% identical to the final version of the DCP.

For screening purposes, only the following formats are accepted:
- DCP clean version (without subtitles but with the original graphics and captions)
- DCP with subtitles (to be agreed upon with the Print Traffic Office depending on the original language/s of the film)
- Blu-ray with selectable english subtitles
- Quicktime ProRes 422 HQ clean version (without subtitles but with the original graphics and captions) of the film on HHD or via digital delivery.

Once the film is selected, the organization will disclose which of the above formats will be required to be sent to the Festival.

Technical Form
Each Hard Disk Drive must be accompanied by the DCP TECHNICAL FORM which indicates parameters as: Image Structure Container, Image Aspect Ratio (e.g., 2:39, 1:85, 16:9, etc.), Audio Channel Count, CPL(s) UUID, in addition to all the general information that is typically provided for films (title, duration, subtitles, language, etc.)

Key Delivery Message (KDM)
DCP encryption is optional.
If the DCP is encrypted, you shall provide KDMs for all the server certificates that will be used at Biografilm Festival. The KDMs are necessary to ensure the screening of the film and to carry out technical checks in advance of the scheduled screenings.

The KDMs must be valid from the day the copy arrives with an expiration date after the last day of the Festival (June 20th 2021). The KDMs shall be delivered to Biografilm Festival Print Traffic Office, via e-mail to print@biografilm.com.

The screening material of the selected film, other than in exceptional cases authorised by the Biografilm Programming Office, must be available for the whole duration of the Festival and must arrive in Bologna, before and not after, the 5th of May 2021. Further information regarding the submission of screening materials will be sent in the official selection communication.

Biografilm Festival Post-Production Partnership
If you’re not able to access a facility for the creation of a compliant Digital Cinema Package (DCP), you can take advantage of the post-production facility Biografilm Festival has a special agreement with. You may email Biografilm Festival Print Traffic Office at print@biografilm.com for further information.


REQUIRED MATERIAL
Selected films must send the following communication material related to the film within five working days of receiving the official selection letter. Failure to meet the deadline risks exclusion from the Festival programme (unless otherwise communicated at the discretion of the Festival):

- Spotting list
- subtitles list in original language and english (with timecode in and out)
- Press book in english
- High res poster (.jpg or .tiff, 300 or more dpi)
- High res photo (.jpg or .tiff, 300 or more dpi with dimensions of 1000 pixels or more per side)
- Digital head shot photo of the director
- Biography and Filmography of the director in english (and in Italian where available)
- High resolution trailer of maximum 3 minutes (via digital delivery)
- High resolution video clips for TV of maximum 2 minutes (via digital delivery)
- online screener (i.e. Vimeo link, with a password that must remain valid until the end of the Festival) with english subtitles if the film is in any other language than english.
- Synopsis in Italian (optional for non-Italian films) and in english (max 700 characters each)
- Confirmation whether the film is a debut or second film
- Information regarding the premiere status of the film
- Information regarding the film’s participation at other festivals and, where relevant, details of previously received awards
- Country(s) of production / co-production (please specify the main co-producer)
- Main credits of the film (main crew and leading actors)

The link for the online screener should be available for internal use until the end of the festival. Once the film’s participation at Biografilm has been confirmed, the Communications Team reserves the right to use the online screener to present the film to certain selected journalists.

Furthermore, once the participation of the film at Biografilm has been confirmed, the Communications Team reserves the right to use extracts of the film of a maximum of 3 consecutive minutes for promotional use both nationally and internationally.

Once the official selection invitation has been accepted, a selected film cannot be removed from the official programme.

Biografilm Festival does not take responsibility for any eventual errors or mistakes in the material that it receives to accompany the film.

RIGHTS
It is the responsibility of producers, distributors and other persons who present the film, to guarantee that they are authorised to submit the film to Biografilm Festival.

By submitting the film through the current call, participants declare themselves as the rights holder of the film (also on behalf of other co-filmmakers who do not intend to participate); this also includes any copyrighted material included in the film.

Biografilm cannot be held responsible for the unauthorised insertion of material protected by copyright that is included in or related to the film that is to be presented. Biografilm reserves the right to disqualify films containing any unauthorised material that is protected by copyright.

GENERAL NOTES
Submitting a film to the call and participating in Biografilm Festival entails the unconditional acceptance of this regulation. In unspecified cases, the final decision is entirely at Biografilm Festival’s discretion.

The Festival Director may take decisions on matters that are not covered by these rules and regulations. Any controversy is under the jurisdiction of the Court of Bologna


CONTACTS
For further information, we invite you to contact the Programming Office of Biografilm Festival, who is available to respond to any queries:

Biografilm Festival | Programming Office
Via della Zecca 2, 40121 – Bologna (Italy)
E-mail: programma@biografilm.it , assistantprogrammer@biografilm.com
Tel.: +39 051 4070166
www.biografilm.it/en/


  

 
  

Discover great films & festivals, one click away

Register
Login